International Certificate in Financial Services Risk Management

The International Certificate in Financial Services Risk Management has been updated in response to international regulatory developments such as Basel III and Solvency II which require that financial services companies and their staff have a broader understanding of risk management. The Certificate is made up of two modules which are designed to be studied together. Learning in module 1 explores elements of the risk management process, while module 2 explains how organisational culture and appetite for risk may affect the implementation of such processes. Similarly, discussion of risk management standards in module 1 supports the study of governance and risk architecture in module 2.

Course syllabus:

  1. Concepts and definitions of risk and risk management

  2. Risk management standards

  3. Enterprise risk management

  4. Risk assessment 1: introduction and identification

  5. Risk assessment 2: risk analysis and evaluation

  6. Risk response and risk treatment

  7. Practice of Risk Management in Financial Services