CREST Practitioner Security Analyst

The CREST Practitioner Security Analyst (CPSA) examination is an entry-level examination that tests a candidate’s knowledge in assessing operating systems and common network services at a basic level below that of the main CRT and CCT qualifications. The CPSA examination also includes an intermediate level of web application security testing and methods to identify common web application security vulnerabilities. The examination covers a common set of core skills and knowledge. The candidate must demonstrate that they have the knowledge to perform basic infrastructure and web application vulnerability scan using commonly available tools and interpret the results to locate security vulnerabilities. Success will confer CREST Practitioner Security Analyst status to the individual.

Course syllabus:

  1. Soft Skills and Assessment Management

  2. Core Technical Skills

  3. Background Information Gathering & Open Source

  4. Networking Equipment

  5. Microsoft Windows Security Assessment

  6. Unix Security Assessment

  7. Web Technologies

  8. Web Testing Methodologies

  9. Web Testing Techniques

  10. Databases